How to address this situation?

Jan467
Level 2
Strathmore, Australia

How to address this situation?

Hi, I'm new to Airbnb (third booking last weekend). First two bookings went well, but a few issues with the last one.

My place was booked for one guest, though it sleeps 8, and my co-host queried the guest asking if it was only one guest, 

as it made it an expensive weekend for one person staying. (Cost is the same for 1-8 guests). He did not answer the query and the mobile number he provided was incorrect. My co-host and I both sent him messages with co-hosts mobile number to arrange to meet at the house,

but no reply. Ten minutes before arriving he rang me to arrange entry to the house, luckily my co-host lives next door!

Turned out there were 8 guests - 2 adults and 6 children - a group of schoolchildren and a teacher from California, and a bus driver from

Avalon, NSW. The booking was made in the bus driver's name, but on his profile it said his address is California, not Avalon, NSW.

I think it was the first booking he has made on Airbnb.

Should I mention these issues in my review of their stay or contact Airbnb?

My co-host said they were great guests, so no problem with their stay other than those I've outlined above. 

I note from reading other Q & A's that insurance would be an issue if there were any problems!

Your advice would be appreciated,

Jan.

5 Replies 5
Noel63
Level 10
Coober Pedy, Australia

If this was the bus driver's first time using airbnb and you didn't lose any money, I would only mention it in the private feedback. He will need to know for the next time he books somewhere.

Next time you can get a person to accept a booking alteration so that they are covered by insurance.

Gillian19
Level 10
St Leonards, Australia

@Jan467 Not sure what insurance you are referring to, but if it's Airbnb's "host guarantee" please ensure you have adequate insurance yourself as there's appears somewhat tricky to actually claim against.