How to deal witha a guest who's expecting a hotel

Christiaan6
Level 2
London, United Kingdom

How to deal witha a guest who's expecting a hotel

I'm new to AirBnB. I've hosted maybe 10 guests. But I've had one recently that really stumped me how to deal with them.

I know how important reviews are, so I was hoping to get some advice on how to best deal with this scenario (for the future) and keep my ratings high!

The guest arrived, and seemed to think they'd booked a Hotel, rather than an AirBnB. They were suprised that they were sharing the flat with me. I messsaged to check everything was OK on day two, and they thought that leaving dirty towels on the floor would mean they would get replaced. Like a hotel.

I took extra steps. Giving them another set of towels. Checking up to make sure things were OK again. But it stumped me a bit how to deal with this guest.

Everything I've mentioned above is pretty clear in the listing. So I'd really appreciate any advice on how I can be a better host in these scenarios.

8 Replies 8
Helen3
Level 10
Bristol, United Kingdom

In your situation as you are sharing the listing with the guest just sit down and chat with your guests. Clearly if they were expecting a whole flat, then they weren't expecting to stay in a hotel 🙂 If they wanted a whole place then I would have suggested to them they contact Airbnb to cancel your booking and find themselves something more in line with their requirements. @Christiaan6 

When you showed them around I am sure you mentioned they were provided with one set of towels for their stay so I wonder how they got the idea the towels were changed daily?

I always reinforce these type of issues in my guide book and ask all guests to read it.

Ah yes, interesting! I think you're right. I'm putting my own opinions on top of what they said, regarding the hotel thing.