How to tax AirBnb income - tips and tricks [London]

Ena13
Level 4
London, United Kingdom

How to tax AirBnb income - tips and tricks [London]

Hello fellow Hosts,

I have a few questions regarding taxes in the UK and having few listings on Airbnb.

I am a fairly new host, I have started renting out my spare room in March this year, and I am aware of the £7500 tax "relief" before I need to declare the Airbnb income. A couple of months ago I listed another property under my account, it is a furnished 2 bedroom house and the whole property is being rented, I am a property manager for this house, and I'm handling all the work as the owner is traveling around the world. The agreement was to share the profit, but with cleaning fees and VAT included in my fee (if applicable).

My questions are:

1. Do I need to pay VAT? (I came across the fact that it only needs to be charged if the income exceeds £85000)

2. Since cleaning fees count as income, is it possible to deduct them as an expense (tax deduction) - so they wouldn't count as profit (because it's not) and therefore not be taxed?

3. How do you file your taxes, alone or do you have an accountant? 

Thanks in advance for all the information, I am sure all the tips and tricks will be helpful for many people here! 🙂 

Best,

Ena

9 Replies 9
Stephanie
Community Manager
Community Manager
London, United Kingdom

Hiya @Ena13 ,

Great topic, I'm sure it will be super useful to our London hosts! Perhaps some of our veteran CC's can help on this one? @Paul1255 , @Gordon0 , @Alon1 , @Roberta2 , @Yadira22  and @Huma0 ? 

Many thanks,

Stephanie

-----

Please follow the Community Guidelines 

Roberta2
Level 10
London, United Kingdom

Hi @Stephanie  and @Ena13 

I rent only a room, so I keep my income under the £7500 - I block the room when family comes over, so works out OK.

I would suggest you get an accountant, at least for the 1st year, as I think you could get come tax relief on costs - like cleaning products.