I’m new to this and want to sound off...... My guest cancelled on day of arrival

Amanda842
Level 2
Ashford, United Kingdom

I’m new to this and want to sound off...... My guest cancelled on day of arrival

She messaged to say they were unable to come and could she cancel, I said she could try via the Airbnb website but but cancellation policy was 48 hours prior to arrival, she then managed via the website to ask to change the date to a future one and it was left up to me to say yes or no, being a wimp I said yes but I felt really annoyed it was left to me to make the decision!  The whole point of me joining a booking agency is to take the stress out of this sort of embarrassment, I ended up with a loss of earnings for the weekend with no chance of anyone else booking at that late notice.  How can Airbnb let people just alter their booking on the day of arrival!! My fault for saying yes I know.  

8 Replies 8
Emiel1
Level 10
Leeuwarden, The Netherlands

@Amanda842,

A guest can allways change a reservation, even during the stay. But it is up to you to confirm the change, and you did say "yes". I understand your frustration, but next time be more strict !

Gordon0
Level 10
London, United Kingdom

@Amanda842 I'm afraid you may have been hoodwinked into believing Airbnb is as stress-free as the smiley ads on the Tube. Just say no in future and remember this doesn't happen very often (fingers crossed).   

Sandra126
Level 10
Daylesford, Australia

This has happened more than once to me, all I can say is NO, NEIN, NON, IIE etc.

I am so sorry that your guest totally abused you like this. Next time, stop and think. Then think NO.