“I payed for it I can do what ever I want”

Dustin25
Level 6
Pittsburgh, PA

“I payed for it I can do what ever I want”

I have been hosting for little over 6 months now, and I really enjoy being a host and helping people enjoy my city. However at the same time I do get host that think “I payed for it I can do what ever I want”! This has become a bigger issues as I am getting more bookings. I have informed some of my guests that it is stated in the house rules about guests and was told “I don’t read that crap”! I know what I want to say to them is get out of MY HOUSE! Yes it is my house not a hotel I am opening up to people but they fall into the mind set “I payed for it I can do what ever I want”. Now that I have said all that I want to get to my question for you all.

I have a guest now that booked 3 months ago, and told me 3 days before him and his wife were coming in from across the country that he would be having his nephew and his nephew’s wife staying for one night of their 3 day stay. I informed him promptly that there is a $20 fee for each guest after 2 people and I will make the changes to their reservation. I was informed by Airbnb that all guests need to be on the reservation that spend the nigh in-order to be covered by their umbrella insurance policy. I have a 2 bedroom place and I have to pay someone to clean it a fair and reasonable wage to do so. I have found that the more people that stay the more there is to clean and the more I am charged even if its just for one night. 

The guests response is as follows:

"It seems petty for 2 guests for one night out of three for a 2 bed 2 days before our flight. What choice do I have

I feel as if I have been very accommodating and I do not feel like I am being petty for enforcing my rules, however I can be wrong so I want to know what my host community thinks.