Why was charged a $100 cancellation fee as a Host????

Answered!
Shannon157
Level 2
Rio Rancho, NM

Why was charged a $100 cancellation fee as a Host????

Prospective guest and I miscommunicated, and I only had 1 of the 2 dates she wanted available. I offered different date, but she could not use it. She asked me to cancel, so I did.

Then Airbnb charged me $100 cancellation fee?????? I'm new to this hosting, but this is crazy!!

1 Best Answer
Emiel1
Level 10
Leeuwarden, The Netherlands

Hello @Shannon157 ,

There are penalties when you cancel a reservation:  What penalties apply if I need to cancel a reservation?

It also states: "The fee will be waived for your first cancellation within a 6-month period."  I noticed in your profile there is another recent cancellation ?

You have 2 listings and several reviews, so you are allready have some experience in hosting, but be aware of this cancellation stuff !

Hope this helps,Emiel

View Best Answer in original post

16 Replies 16
Emiel1
Level 10
Leeuwarden, The Netherlands

Hello @Shannon157 ,

There are penalties when you cancel a reservation:  What penalties apply if I need to cancel a reservation?

It also states: "The fee will be waived for your first cancellation within a 6-month period."  I noticed in your profile there is another recent cancellation ?

You have 2 listings and several reviews, so you are allready have some experience in hosting, but be aware of this cancellation stuff !

Hope this helps,Emiel

Clare0
Level 10
Templeton, CA

Yes, @Shannon157, when you cancel a confirmed reservation, Airbnb imposes several penalties on the host.  See this link: 

https://www.airbnb.com/help/article/990/i-m-a-host--what-penalties-apply-if-i-need-to-cancel-a-reser...

You probably got the request to cancel which does inform you that by cancelling you may be subject to these host cancellation policies.