Is anyone else finding the website "updates" exceptionally annoying?

Ziggy1
Level 3
London, United Kingdom

Is anyone else finding the website "updates" exceptionally annoying?

As an interface designer myself I am becoming quite concerned as to why Airbnb keep forcing a poorly designed and unfinished interface on the users. This is called "featuritis" in the industry - where too many programmers keep changing and fiddling with the user interface, making it more and more confusing and awkward to use. The problem comes from programmers always insisting on "designing" for their own ilk. The programmer tremselves cannot be blamed, they don't understand that "ordinary folk" don't get excited about puzzle-solving and endlessly fiddling with buttons, they just want to have an *INTUITIVE* interface. The management need to understand that it takes somelike like Jobs who knows how to force the veryu curious programmer brains to design the user interface for these "normal people" and not for their own kind.

The interface has become slower and half of the time I am looking for something that isn't there anymore, my bookmark takes me to the least important page now, there are too many different buttons and links, too many of them take you back to where you're trying to get away from etc. Airbnb ought to send their presumably tormented and overworked programming staff on a hoilday like that Chinese businessman did. Seriously, tormented minds produce tormented interfaces. Think about that!

6 Replies 6
Maria758
Level 9
Washington, DC

Hola @Ziggy1!  Love the name by the way!

Anyway... WHOOSH!  Right over my head!  But I read your full post in hopes that I might learn something IT related and I think I did.  Thanks for the input!

Happy Hosting!

Izzie, Co-Host

LOV Puerto Rico

Gus17
Level 2
New South Wales, AU