Should I ask my guests to leave a review?

Jude7
Level 10
Rhinebeck, NY

Should I ask my guests to leave a review?

I'm new to Airbnb and just had my first two bookings, back to back. Both parties were lovely, and I have written them both positive 5 star reviews.  I understand that reviews are not posted until both parties have written, which I think is an excellent policy, so that one review is not influencing the other.  

My question is - is it appropriate to ask a guest to leave a review after their stay has ended?  

As a new host, I am well aware of the importance of reviews.  I would like to send a thank you to each party after their stay, and include a request to leave a review.  

Does anyone do such a thing, and is it considered appropriate and customary?

Thank you so much!

Jude

25 Replies 25
Gerry-And-Rashid0
Level 10
London, United Kingdom

Did you include it in the 'private message to your guest' as part of the review?

If not, then wait a few days to see if they post a review as they will be prompted to do so.

If you are getting close to the 14 days and there is no sign of them posting a review, then there is no harm in a very brief email asking them to do so, stressing that you wouldn't normally chase people but as you are new to AirBnB you need to build up a few reviews to encourage more bookings.

Thank you, Gerry and Rashid! I appreciate the suggestion of including a request for a review to the section of the review process about private messages for the guest.  Good suggestion!  Is there any way for me to know if they have written a review about me, as I'm sitting down to write a review about them?

Question - I believe reviews are not posted for 14 days, to give both parties time to respond? However, will reviews be posted sooner than 14 days if both parties have submitted a review?