It Finally Happened

Daniel1992
Level 10
Downingtown, PA

It Finally Happened

I've seen several posts here of potential guests asking for discounted rates for various reasons.  It finally happened to me over the weekend!

"Hello! I am a student at xx University and I commute from xx where I currently reside. I will be taking a winter session condensed course running Monday through Friday, 12/17 - 1/18 and was wondering if you would be open to renting the room Sunday - Thursday nights for a slightly reduced rate the weeks of (Phone number hidden by Airbnb) and 1/13 - 1/17. Let me know if this is something you would consider and a price per week you think would be fair. Thank you! xx."

Thanks to all of you, I sent her a message saying that the discounted rates are for full weekly and monthly rentals only, as the price listed is already fair.  Funny thing is, this person has only been a member since November 2018 (I'm pretty sure they signed up JUST to ask me to lower my rate), so there are no reviews.  They also don't have a profile picture.

32 Replies 32
Linda108
Level 10
La Quinta, CA

@Daniel1992  Seems like a very politely worded request.  Sometimes the usual discount for the weekly booking is close to a full price for 5 days.  I wonder if the newbie calculated that.  

I wonder too, though the entire time frame is a full month.  She probably would have saved money overall by booking the full month.

Janet440
Level 2
Galveston, TX

It seems that her request for a better price may have offended you, but I agree that she worded it respectfully. When someone has asked this of me, I just respond, “I’m sorry but this is the best I can do for you!”  Many people are in the position that they have either  been taught to always ask for a discount or they are simply hopeful. It works with me sometimes—if my bookings have been low, I’ll ageee to it and I’m glad they asked rather than going elsewhere!