Kicking guests out advice

Denise405
Level 3
California, United States

Kicking guests out advice

Hello fellow hosts:

I’ve been doing Airbnb for 4 years with two properties and have definitely dealt with bad guests but never a group like this.  I would like advice on how to deal with a situation like this in the future and how you have kicked guests out who repeatedly violate the rules and cause neighbor noise complaints.

The guest booked stating they are “middle-aged quiet, respect and good people.”  The guest requested an early check-in and I gave them a complimentary check-in at 12 instead of 4pm.  

The guest arrived at 11:30 and was standing at the doorstep.  I use Ring and a smartlock system.  When someone is at the door, a video pops up on my phone.

The video started playing and the guest was waving to the camera, was cussing “what the **bleep**” and “this is a waste of my **bleep**ing time” and “she’s hardcore” because he couldn’t open the door with the smartlock until noon.  (The agreed-upon and communicated check-in time.). I called him, told him I was notified he was at the door and asked if everything was all right.  I told him how he popped up on my phone and asked if he needed help.  I told him I heard him and if everything was going to be alright with his stay because this isn’t a good start.  He apologized and said this was a joke and all was fine.

I was uncomfortable and called Airbnb.  I sent them the video and asked for my options.  The rep said she’d talk to her team and get back to me.  I messaged again 2 hours later and 3 hours later bc no one got back to me.

Around 6pm the rep said her shift was ending so she would pass me to another rep who would contact me straight away.  Nothing.