Las Vegas regulation/laws 2018

Las Vegas regulation/laws 2018

Hello,

I am new to airbnb and I wish to move to Las Vegas, buy a house, and make the spare rooms available up for hosting.

Purpose of hosting wouldn't necessarily be to make money, I don't expect to even break even on my monthly expense judging by the low rates that are available from my light browsing.  But rather, to supplement some side income so that it will lessen my monthly expense.

I wish to buy a house with 3 or more berooms, and I will be occupying the house.  

I understand the city of las vegas has recently implemented some new laws that are extremely hostile to hosts.  I have done some light research so far on my own, but I hope someone can help me clarify the situation a bit better.

So if I buy a residential unit, owner occupied, 3 + bedrooms, do I have to acquire a Short term rental permit?  a CUV? or  a SUP?

Assuming the house that I buy does not belong in a HOA, or assuming that I earn permission from the HOA, is the license from the city easily attainable?

And the $500 annual fee, is that per house or per bedroom?

I also read somewhere that north las vegas area, correct me if I am wrong, are exempt from this type of restrictions.  Is that correct?

Anyways, I wish to permanently move to Las Vegas and actually live there so my intent for hosting is not necessarily to make money for the sake of making money.   If I am able to supplement my income with hosting, that will make my decision to move in to the state that much more attractive.

Thank you for reading and thank you for any input.

20 Replies 20
Malee-Anne0
Level 2
Las Vegas, NV

Short term rentals are not allowed in the County but within city limits with a license of $500 a year per property. It's not an wasy process and not guranteed that you will get approved. Most HOA's do not allow it. There is over 4K airbnb rentals here and less then 200 are licensed so you do the math...