Leave a bad review or no review at all?

Alison3
Level 3
Luray, VA

Leave a bad review or no review at all?

I have been hosting for over 6 years and haven't had this situation before. A guest just left and I'm not certain whether to leave a negative review or none at all.

The guest booked a single bed for three nights (one bed = one guest in a shared room), her communication was all "I" messages, yet when she arrived 30 minutes after check-in time with no communication of the fact, she has her girlfriend with her! I meet them at the door with surprise on my face and say, "oh, there's two of you."

"Yeah, we can share a bed."

"That's not the way it works. It's one bed for each person." Beds are single/ twin beds.

"Oh, we didn't see that."

I allow them to stay and a few minutes later I walk upstairs with my listing opened on my phone and show the booking guest what shows up. 

"Let me look and see what mine shows... Oh, yeah, I see what you're talking about."

I gave a VERY generous discount for the second person (why, I don't know).

In trying to call/ text the guest I find that her phone number is incorrect as she did not respond to phone or text messages but did reply to communication through Airbnb. I felt the need to communicate with her as a snowstorm was coming in and the parking situation was changing.

There were a few other irritations, but the bringing of another guest under the guise of a single person and not being able to easily communicate are what is bringing me to you all for guidance. I have read through some other threads but only found one about an "extra" guest and that was a child, not a full-grown adult.

Thanks for your insights!

Alison

7 Replies 7
Sarah977
Level 10
Sayulita, Mexico