Leaving a mess - etiquette

Mikki0
Level 10
Long Beach, CA

Leaving a mess - etiquette

So Cal, USA

Asking fellow hosts - is there a level of cleanliness you expect from your guests upon check out? I have a plus property, with a full kitchen including a dishwasher. I charge no cleaning fee on my listing.

Some guests have used the kitchen, then left me with the dirty dishes/stove/countertops. I would think they they would at least LOAD the dishwasher if not run it.

When guests leave, is it acceptable for them to think "I paid for the accommodation, so someone else can clean my mess"?

For myself, even if I pay to stay somewhere, I treat the place respectfully. In hotels, I've my beds, piled my towels, even wiped down bathroom counters.

In the one airbnb I've stayed at, I washed the cup I used and left it on the drying rack, in case the host was more  anal about cleanliness.

32 Replies 32

@Dimitar27 

I've been doing this for over 7 years now. I have spreadsheets of information on all kinds of data points. Cleaning fees, instant book, long term discounts, last minute deals, higher prices, seasonal pricing, various types of cancellation policies...I've experimented with it all. 

As a part time data analyst, I can tell you that charging for cleaning in my place cut my books by 10%, and raising my prices cost me bookings. 

The prices I charge are comparable and competitive with what's offered in my area and suited to the travelers to this area. 

OK, but if you compare the number of the cut bookings, to the number of the "messy" guests...what is the result? Again 10% less?

@Mikki0 

As a part time data analyst, I can tell you that charging for cleaning in my place cut my books by 10%, and raising my prices cost me bookings. 

Our cleaning fees are pretty much 10% of bookings, so I guess that would even out over a season providing more free time or additional booking opportunities?

Mikki0
Level 10
Long Beach, CA

Thanks all, for your input.