Leaving a negative guest review

Marie6848
Level 2
Hilton Head Island, SC

Leaving a negative guest review

I had my third guest just check out early this morning.  The communication with this guest leading up to the reservation was pretty okay.  They left me a message early this morning that they followed all my checkout rules and had a great time!!  However, when my cleaner arrived at noon, she found the door wide open to the condo!  This means anyone had free access for about 6 hours.  She thinks everything is intact but I'm still waiting for her to completely clean the condo and check everything.  It was most likely a mistake.  But I need to leave this in the review, right, because another host would want to know?  But I'm new to this and this is where I'm feeling bad about having to do this.  My advice from a fellow host friend is leave the incident in the review.  Any other advice for a newbie?

14 Replies 14
Sarah977
Level 10
Sayulita, Mexico

@Marie6848  Yes, you should mention it in the review, there's no reason to feel bad about doing so. It seems that otherwise the guest was fine, so speak to the positive as well as this inattention.

That doesn't constitute a negative review. That's just an honest review, as all reviews should be.

Laura2592
Level 10
Frederick, MD

@Marie6848 wow. I have had guests who leave doors open. Once early in our hosting career, a stray cat got in and peed in a closet. We are in a rural location with a population of feral and semi-feral cats from nearby farms. This guy was not a pet but a young male who helped himself to the chicken carcass they left in the trash and then marked up the closet. It took lots of vinegar and cleaning/airing out for the next guest. So though we didn't have anything stolen an unsecured space is a big no no.