Long Term Reservation peak season

Melanie251
Level 2
Philadelphia, PA

Long Term Reservation peak season

I am new to Airbnb and so far it has been an exremely frustrating experience. I have a summer beach cottage and received tons of interest much sooner than expected and am scrambling to catch up. I have an excellent guest who loves the house and wants to rent it for 8 weeks of my summer season and a mutually agreeable price. She is ready to book! But,

1. we are having difficulty completing the transaction because we changed the dates and price of her original request and the system simply won't let us complete the booking.

2. I just realized that I won't get the money until after they check in and that they could basically cancel at any time. If they cancelled an 8 week reservation a week or even one month before, I couldn't possibly recover from that. I simply can't afford to allow cancellations of any kind. I also can't afford to wait six months to recieve the funds.

I really hate to loose this potential tenant (who is a seasoned airbnb guest) because of these stupid technical issues. I would be deeply grateful if anyone can help me.

3 Replies 3
Paul154
Level 10
Seattle, WA

Welcome to Airbnb!

I would advise to step back from this one. You are discovering problems and do not yet have much experience with Airbnb, so do not rush into anything.

While your guest may be very nice, she is an expert and you are fresh meat, so you are correct to be wary.

As a long term landlord of 30 years, I brought my own baggage .  Due to my  bad marketing, I took whatever came and was grateful.

I stressed about scheduling and filling up weekdays and single days.

Wow! Airbnb is SOOO different than my long term landlord experience. Because they market world wide, you'll have alot of opportunity to rent in the summer and fill your calendar. Airbnb can even rent your single weekdays!