Messy guests

Terry61
Level 2
Jacksonville, FL

Messy guests

Hello I'm new to hosting.  I have had three guests so far.  The first two were a dream come true..However the third guest is waking me up to I guess you would call reality.  Messy,messy,messy.   In addition to that she is booked to stay 14 days and 6 days in I am counting the days.  If I read a review before hand this person was this messy I would have declined.   I am reading however a lot of people (if the person is otherwise nice) are not posting about their messiness.  I want to be fair and kind but cleaniness is very important to me.    I'm liking the concept or the Airbnb but am dishearted by the posibility of guests being possibly naturally messy.  Plese shed some light on dealing with this issue. 

15 Replies 15
Zoe14
Level 2
Johannesburg, South Africa

Are you clear in your listing about what is common space and what is the guests private space?  If you share a common space (s) unfortunately you are going to have to deal with the person direct.  Not everyone will be as neat and tidy as you unfortunately - however, I suggest that you chat to the person, make a comment that it is the common space and it would be appreciated if they could keep there things in their own room.  Specifically mark out to guests where dirty dishes and clothes go, how you handle the dishwasher i.e. load and wash each day, or load, rinse and wash every 2nd day.  In future, try to do this when the person arrives and set boundaries, and ask that they respect the common areas.

Or, you will just have to limit the areas that you will allow guests to go into if you dont want mess.