Monthly rental to guest with no reviews

Maria14475
Level 2
Ingersoll, Canada

Monthly rental to guest with no reviews

Hello,

I am new to hosting. I have someone who has requested to rent my place for 35 nights, they don't have any reviews. They have just joined Airbnb. Should I accept this or decline? Does anyone have advice for this situation?

3 Replies 3
Mike-And-Jane0
Level 10
England, United Kingdom

@Maria14475 When does a guest become a tenant in your country? That aside as a new host you really need lots of short stays to get your review numbers up and improve on your 4.0 score.

Laura2592
Level 10
Frederick, MD

@Maria14475 I would decline for several reasons:

1. Stays over 30 days probably make you a landlord without a lease. You could get a squatter. 

2. Longer stays may result in lack of payment. A guest complaining may hold up your pay out and ABB will not release. I think only the first 15 days are guaranteed but others who do long term can chime in

3. The guest is an unknown quantity with no reviews. If you are a new host you may be targeted by scam guests because they will hold you hostage for those first few reviews.

I would say "thanks for your interest but I am not accepting long term stays at this time." And set your nightly stay length to 2 weeks or less. Long term stays on ABB are incredibly risky. 

ETA-- I see you ARE a new host. Yeah,  just take a hard pass on this one. And it might not be a bad idea to ask for a listing critique in the New to Hosting forum. There are some definite tips and things I see right away that could really take your place to the next level. Its cute!

Brian2036
Level 10
Arkansas, United States

@Maria14475 

I don’t know precisely why, but 35 days seems to be a magic number for guests who are planning to try to cheat a host.

It happened to me and I have seen posts from other hosts who experienced the same thing.

It’s related to your discount policy.

DO NOT accept Airbnb’s recommendations!