Need Advice About Review After A Messy Guest

Patricia3334
Level 6
Tennessee, United States

Need Advice About Review After A Messy Guest

I have been hosting since mid December 2021 and have gotten and given great reviews up til now. My last guest stayed 3 nights and he was quiet and all was well until he left. He left the place in a mess and I do not want him back. He left a sink and counter full of dirty dishes, left his dirty towels and wash cloths all over the bathroom, didn't strip the bed, left perishables in the fridge,  stuffed tissue in small holes in the bedroom window screen so now they're bigger,  moved a picture on the wall, hid a pillow behind a chair, but worst of all left his trash on the outdoor dining table. I didn't have time to check the backyard to see if he cleaned up after his pup. 

I don't want him back and want to be honest for other hosts but don't want to cause bad feelings.

What's the best thing to do? No review? short review? List these things in the review? Thanks

19 Replies 19

@Patricia3334  definitely review, but no need to list all the individual issues. You can just say pretty objectively that your cleaning instructions weren't followed at checkout and tap thumbs down on "would you host again."

Bad feelings? Nah. A guest who leaves piles of trash and dirty dishes for you to deal with clearly doesn't care what you think anyway. But you might want to meet guests halfway and simplify your cleaning instructions. For example, there's no good reason to expect guests to strip beds, since you have to inspect them for stains before laundering anyway. 

Good point on stripping the bed. I took that from other hosts but I like your idea better.  Thanks for the reply. 

@Patricia3334  I know some hosts ask guests to strip the bed, but I think it's a totally weird request. And most guests find it over the top as well.