Announcements

Winter Release Q&A with Airbnb’s Christy Schrader

Winter Release Q&A session

Need advice on a weird situation with a guest

Sarah232
Level 2
South Portland, ME

Need advice on a weird situation with a guest

I need advice for both how to handle situation and how to handle review after the fact:

My current guests are a nice older couple (late 60's), however the gentleman has dementia.  His wife thought he'd be fine with the trip, but it's becomming evident that he may not be.  

I noticed a few weird little things, like that he kept losing his phone, was wandering around (non-threteningly) with my tomato knife, left me a tiny note on a sewing pin with weird characters, told me he knew I was a teacher because he'd gone through one of my notebooks, left on lights, locked doors not used, etc.

Yesterday afternoon, the wife met me upon my arrival home from work.  She was upset and embarassed, but let me know that her husband has dementia and she thought he'd be fine for the trip, but that while she was showering, he had gone into my bedroom to collect all of my green hangers because he has a fixation with green hangers.  

She was upset with him and they had had an arguement.  She also made him apologize to me which was awkward since he didn't understand why it was wrong.  He could only understand the hangers, not the privacy issue.  She indicated that she was considering leaving today and did not expect me to refund her for the rest of the week.

I thanked her (and him) for the apology and told her I was sorry for her frustration and vacation disappointment.  I also said I would happily refund them for nights not spent in my home.  It was an awkward moment that I did not expect.  I didn't encourage her to stay, but also did not make it clear that I wish they would go.