Neighbors complaining in Barcelona

Umair18
Level 2
Barcelona, ES

Neighbors complaining in Barcelona

Dear Airbnb Hosts!

This is my first time that i am writing something here. Today the local police knocked at my door. They said that the neighbors has complained about strangers visiting this flat on a daily basis. I told them that sometimes i receive my friends from university and blah blah .... and they left. 

I am hosting in Barcelona from almost 2 years and its been great. Now i am in this situation. What should i do? 

5 Replies 5
Bryan10
Level 10
Feltham, United Kingdom

Are you allowed to host Airbnb guests? In terms of local laws and the tenancy rules of the apartment you live in? 

I am not sure. Actually, the host is supposed to get a turist license for his apartment. But that applies to whole apartments, not single rooms. I am renting just one room. That is why i am not sure if i can get one. But surely, at the moment i don't have any license. 

Lisa723
Level 10
Quilcene, WA

@Umair18 it seems pretty obvious what you should do: find out whether you are operating legally and in compliance with your lease (if you have one); and if you are not, either do whatever is required to become legal or stop hosting.

And try to get on better terms with your neighbors, in any event.

Bryan10
Level 10
Feltham, United Kingdom

I'm not familiar with the rules in Barcelona, but it would be good to find out. A little googling and I found this if the link works (if not, just search Airbnb in Barcelona)  https://www.citylab.com/life/2018/06/barcelona-finds-a-way-to-control-its-airbnb-market/562187/ and yes getting on with your neighbours is always going to make things better. 

Robin4
Level 10
Mount Barker, Australia

@Umair18 

Deciding to short term rent (STR), and being 'allowed' to short term rent are two entirely different things.