New here, should I add more beds to increase nightly rate?

New here, should I add more beds to increase nightly rate?

I just opened my home for Airbnb guests and I want to rent out the space as an entire house rather than individual rooms. Currently I have a king bed in the master bedroom, and a queen bed in one of the other rooms, and one room empty (was used as an office). I'd like to increase the nightly rates I charge. The only way I thought it would make a big difference is to add more beds in the house. I'm thinking a bunk bed in the third room, and possibly a day bed in the master bedroom.

What are some other ideas I should consider? 

19 Replies 19
Emiel1
Level 10
Leeuwarden, The Netherlands

hello @Vivian119 ,

if you add more beds, you can accomodate more guest. Your price now is allready for the entire house, max is 5 guests. You could consider adding a fee for extra guests:

https://www.airbnb.com/help/article/1507/how-do-i-add-a-fee-for-additional-guests-to-my-listing

Allways be carefull when renting a whole house, avoid the party people and set a deposit in your listing (it's not there now)

Best regards, Emiel

Robin4
Level 10
Mount Barker, Australia

@Vivian119

Hello Vivian,  I have had a look at your listing and the problem you have at the moment you have set a nightly price for the listing that remains the same regardless of whether one guest books or 5!

What you need to do is set a 'base price' in 'Pricing'  on your listing editing page and then set an additional guest charge as per this screenshot....

setting extra charges.png

You have currently set a listing price of $164 AU per night!

What I am suggesting you do is set a listing price of, say, $160 AU per night for up to 2 guests and then set an additional guest charge of $15-$20 per guest for each additional guest over that two. 

You can't charge by the bed Vivian, you can only charge by the number of guests.

I hope this is of help to you Vivian....good luck.

Cheers.....Rob