New to Air BnB and getting rough reviews

Ashleigh36
Level 2
Christchurch, New Zealand

New to Air BnB and getting rough reviews

Hi All,

I am new to Air BnB and have hosted 5 people over the past 3 weeks and found my reviews to be a kick in the gut. 

The first had said my bathroom had grime, and when I cleaned it, I saw no sign of grime.

The second said my location and value were 4 stars :(. Thats really unfair, a guest house with everything you ever need plus extras I put into it for only $50/night seems actually so cheap to me and much better value than a motel.

So now my rating is 4.5 which in my city is terrible. People with the same but more expensive listings have 5 stars and super host.

What can I do? What am I doing wrong? I go the extra mile but my guests seem to be very picky. Which is strange since they only pay $50...

Makes me wonder if its even worth it.. or if I should just rent it out.

9 Replies 9
Rowena29
Level 10
Australia

Hi @Ashleigh36 

Really sorry your first few experiences have been negative.

It's a pretty well know fact, the cheaper your listing, the worse and more demanding the guest ( true - I KNOW it makes no sense), so you might want to up your prices.

I would also leave a house manual in a large clear font with plenty of white space in an obvious area and in under a heading housekeeping, explain your cleaning regime and ask that guests contact you if there is a problem with anything.  I would also give guests a heads up about the review system - many think that 4 stars is great ( they are more or less told that by airbnb). I'm happy to send you a pdf of my houserules and manual, not saying it's the best thing ever, but might give you some ideas...

I'll also attach a link that shows what some other hosts say to guests in their house manuals re the ranking system.

https://community.withairbnb.com/t5/Hosting/Explaining-5-star-ratings-to-guests/m-p/882631#M217397