New

Maxine103
Level 2
Newquay, United Kingdom

New

Can anyone help? I am new to hosting! I have a booking and it's looking like I have had 40% discounts taken out of my booking! I understand the 20% off within the first 3 bookings! But why has there been more? 

12 Replies 12
Emiel1
Level 10
Leeuwarden, The Netherlands

@Maxine103 

I guess the reservation is for 7  nights or more ?

Your weekly discount is set by at 21% + the special offer 20% = approx. 41 %  !

Hope this helps,

Emiel

Anna9170
Level 10
Lloret de Mar, Spain

@Maxine103    Probably  @Emiel1  is right. Most likely, you have made a week's discount, as Airbnb offers by default and added a special offer. Airbnb summarizes any possible discounts, so please close your calendar and spend the evening checking your price settings!

Helen3
Level 10
Bristol, United Kingdom

I would remove the introductory discount and reduce your weekly discount @Maxine103 

Mike-And-Jane0
Level 10
England, United Kingdom

@Maxine103 I would remove your weekly discount until after the promotion phase. Leaving the promotion phase discount in place to keep you up the search rankings

Robin4
Level 10
Mount Barker, Australia

@Maxine103 

Maxine, to Airbnb your property will never be cheap enough, they are not the slightest bit interested in whether you make money or lose it.....they just want a successful booking so they get their commission.

Remove ALL discounts from your listing, Airbnb will protest but, don't use 'Smart Pricing'.....don't take any notice of 'Pricing Tips' and don't use length of stay discounts.....Airbnb will double or even triple up on your discounts if you have enough in place  and you will end up essentially paying a guest to stay in your listing.

If the guest was worth a discount you can offer them a refund at the end of the stay when you can assess whether the guest was worth taking a dollar or two off for! 

Discounts are a shortcut to ruin......don't offer them!

Cheers.........Rob

Maxine103