Occupancy rate of Niagara Falls

Nian1
Level 1
Richmond Hill, Canada

Occupancy rate of Niagara Falls

Hello my fellow hosts,

I'm new to Airbnb hosting in Niagara Falls region on the Canadian side, and I just had a very good December. However, my Jan is brutally underbooked (about 7 days of booking) even though I lowered my prices to an insanly low level...

I am wondering if you have the same issue? Specifically, how much occupancy rate do you have or generally in the region? when does this low season end? and for Apr to Oct, do we generally all achieve 100%?

Thanks,

Ben

15 Replies 15
Branka-and-Silvia0
Level 10
Zagreb, Croatia

@Nian1 when I want to see how are others in my area booked  and at what prices I make a research as a guest. This is the fastes and simplest way. 

@Nian1, I don't work for them, but I think AirDNA has information about Niagara Falls, CA listings.

The really good stuff costs money (of course), but there is some free data:

https://www.airdna.co/market-data/app/ca/ontario/niagara-falls/overview

Nian1
Level 1
Richmond Hill, Canada

This really helps. Thanks Matthew!

How did your occupancy go for the rest of the year?

Occupancy rate is a function of seasonality and pricing, so occupancy rate differs a lot by person. That being said, given my consistent pricing strategy (i.e. price at the 75 percentile highest among comparables), my occupancy ratewas straight up 100% during the summer (July + August) and 65-75% for the rest of the year. Now looking back I should have priced summer price about 20% higher. 

Overall, July + August acounts for about 50% of all my revenue last year given the prices were ridiculously high (e.g. Aug long weekend I priced my 2 bd house at 600+ CAD per night while a winter weekday would be as low as 85 CAD per night). 

what do the levels refer to under ur name? ty

Alexandra316
Level 10
Lincoln, Canada