Over supply in Eugene, OR

Jess78
Level 10
Eugene, OR

Over supply in Eugene, OR

Well, I've been hosting for 4 years now and each year prices get more and more suppressed due to more abundant supply and some price war-ing. It's gotten to the point that unless it picks up, I'll go back to long term rental of the house. Long term rental prices are up and short term seem to be way down. When I average the gross per month from the last year, we'd pretty much come out even.  More hotel supply and a thousand new hosts in town. I guess it'll either even out as people decide to jump ship... Anyone else notice this in Eugene area? Tips other than make your place even better, hang in there, list on other sites too, etc?

11 Replies 11

@Jess78

" Long term rental prices are up and short term seem to be way down "

true for many,many,many cities/areas Jess ....and hosts end up offering more and more...for less and less

Tips? ...Jump on the long term before everyone else does (some of the  thousand new hosts in town) and brings those prices back down again....  

Hang in there ?..yeah..you could do...but it is clearly a race to the bottom in terms of prices and offer.... how low it goes and who wants to hang around through it..... maybe do a year,  long term, and see how the market looks then ...  the best locations and best offers/provision will survive the downturn/over supply

Pete28
Level 10
Seattle, WA

If you can do long term and make roughly the same then only a crazy person would do Airbnb. I have both a long term and STR, and the STR is a daily annoyance of cleaning, reviews, smoking, garbage, bad parking, guest communication etc etc. Why would you want it ?

I think the best STR is a part of a house (MIL etc) where it is hard to rent separately and you can keep a close eye on it and be around. Your total cost is low, expenses are already those that you have, so risk is low.