PPP problems

Lynda60
Level 2
North Kingstown, RI

PPP problems

There's a big problem with Airbnb hosts being denied PPP loans on the basis that no Airbnb host qualifies. Both the state SBA and the National SBA said airbnb is not included for PPP loans, and I don't believe this to be correct. In fact it's my understanding Airbnb specifically participated in dial-up with Congress when the bill was being crafted to include Airbnb hosts for benefits under the ACT including PPP loans. We need to take some kind of immediate definitive action like get a hold of the CEO of Airbnb, otherwise we will all lose out.

9 Replies 9

I am not an expert on this!  But I have gone through the entire process.  This is what I learned:  

Sadly I think there was a lot of confusion with PPP and EIDL.  Most people tried going the PPP route when they should have gone with EIDL.  

PPP was for businesses with employees who would get funds to spend primarily on employee wages.  The businesses needed to be official businesses, with business tax returns, evidence of payroll, association with SBA approved banks, and so on. Most of us mom and pop Airbnb hosts don't really have employees nor do we have evidence of payroll through an SBA approved bank.  In fact, many of us may not even have a schedule C.  I'm guessing most hosts just use schedule E!

Instead, mom and pop Airbnb hosts should have turned to EIDL.  With that program, you still got the $1000 grant (same as the PPP) and an option to get a non-collateralized loan at 3.75% for 30 years.  I had success signing up with EIDL.  I was only asked to provide my schedule E and my Airbnb 1099k.