Partial cancellation

Anneli7
Level 2
Deer Isle, ME

Partial cancellation

Hi! I'm pretty new to AirBnb and here's a situation that just came up: a guests asked for a change in their booking (within the 5 day span), he wanted to take the last two nights out of the reservation. If I click agree to this, does that mean that the cancellation policy applies and I get to keep the 50%? Or, is there an option for him to cancel two out of three nights?

Thanks!

8 Replies 8
Colleen47
Level 10
Frisco, CO

If you agree to an alteration you will not get the 50%. There is an option to change a reservation, both the dates as well as cost. I have shortened a trip for a guest before. In my mind some is better than none. Good luck @Anneli7

Thanks Colleen!

can the guest make a partial cancellation of their reservation?

The guest should submit an official reservation change request (not you) and then you can approve that. No cancellation policy applies to this situation.  I have asked guests to do this when they want to lengthen a trip or add a person.

Letti0
Level 10
Atascosa, TX

@Anneli7  This is usually a way for guests to get around your cancellation policy. I won't do it. They blocked my calendar all this time and chances of rebooking those 2 days will be slim to none, so they pay for them. Period. What is the purpose of your cancellation policy if you let guests work around it?

Hi, yes I understand it's a way for them to get around the policy. My question is whether the guests can cancel two out of the three nights and the cancellation policy would apply to those nights, and that I would still keep some of the money?

@Anneli7   Telll them they need to call AirBnB for those two nights to be cancelled. If you can rebook either of the days you will refund them. That way you will still get 50%. 

AirBnB number:

United States and Canada

+1-415-800-5959
+1-855-424-7262 (toll-free)