Plumbing damages caused by guest negligence

Christy28
Level 1
Fulshear, TX

Plumbing damages caused by guest negligence

I hosted a guest for the past 8 days that had several great reviews, so I was looking forward to a great experience. (actually, I've been hosting now for about 18 months, and have always had very good experiences). Anyway, the guest and his wife and son stayed in the loft apartment on our horse farm. (Not a shared space, it has 2 bedrooms, kitchen, bath etc) They were very personable and said many times as we crossed paths on the farm during the week that ours was one of the most enjoyable properties that they've stayed at.
But on the 6th night at 10:30pm, I got a message that they were having problems with a clogged toilet, that they'd tried to plunge, but it didnt help. I told them I would get an emergency plumber out asap, and he arrived at 7:30 the next morning. 

Being out in the country, we are on a septic system. So I have a sign posted on the toilet, saying that "no other paper products, other than the 'highly luxurious' one-ply toiled paper provided, can be flushed down the toilet". As it turns out, the three of them had been flushing "moistened personal wipes" that they had brought with them for several days. The plumber brought them up when he snaked the pipes, and the guest admitted they had been flushing them, because they said 'flushable' on the packaging. There were so many packed into the pipes, that the plumber had to come out a second time, after thinking he had gotten them all the first time. In all, the two plumber visits cost $1000.