Possible scammers? Please help

Tyler370
Level 3
Cambridge, Canada

Possible scammers? Please help

I am new to airbnb and recently received two requests for the exact same length on time on the exact same days.

The first message read.... 

"Hi, Tyler. My husband and I will visit some friends at Ontario. We will work from home during the day and enjoy the city in our free time. Thank you :-)"

The second read...

"I will be visiting Kitchener with my wife to get to know the city. We are both software developers and we intend to move from Winnipeg and Kitchener was is one of the possibilities (it has a good IT ecosystem) but we need to get to know the city before deciding to move :)"

First off they both said they were from Winnipeg. Yet he first one had a profile which said they live in Brazil. They both wanted to stay an entire month....on the exact same days? And they both added the same happy smily face.

If you read the first one closely, they say they want to " work from home during the day, and enjoy the city in free time. Excuse me,  there's COVID restrictions. Everything in my city closes at 9, what night life are they enjoying? 

The second  says they are "software developers" yet can't type a coherant message?  

Question is this common? Am I being paranoid or over cautious,  or is this a scam or game to target new hosts who have many open days?

21 Replies 21

@Tyler370  The fact that these were identical dates is a little odd, but nothing looks immediately suspicious. Presumably, if both accounts were able to contact you about the same dates, these were Inquiries and not Requests (a request locks the dates until you take action). 

Did either guest have reviews and Verified ID? Neither is foolproof, but they can lend some credibility.

Both guests had accounts which said they lived outside of the country they also had no reviews so I declined.

Laura2592
Level 10
Frederick, MD