Potential Guest haveing trouble making booking

David7362
Level 2
Springwood, Australia

Potential Guest haveing trouble making booking

Hi,

I am very new at this (just listed our property a few days ago).

I had an enquiry the day after listing from a lady asking if the property was available for 31Dec to 2Jan.  As far as I can see the dates are available on the calendar so not quite sure why she needed to ask (although I think she is new to airbnb and  may not have made a booking before).

I responded that it was available and also did a 'pre-appoval'.  She sent me another message about 27 hours after I did the pre-approval saying that she was having trouble and was unable to get the booking to go though and could I pre-approve it again.  I couldn't work out how to do another pre-approval, but sent an 'offer' at the original price (which I think should have pretty much the same effect as a pre-approval?)

I have now received another message from her (well within 24 hours of the offer being made)  saying that she "tried to make the reservation but now it does not appear". There is no reservation showing up on airbnb at my end, so I assume it did not go through.

Not certain if I am doing something wrong or if the problem lies with the lady trying to book our property.  This would be our very first booking, and although I am sure there will be others in the future, I am finding it very frustrating that somebody apparently wants to book our property but is unable to do so.

Any advice would be appreciated.  Thanks

11 Replies 11
Emiel1
Level 10
Leeuwarden, The Netherlands

@David7362 

IMO the guest does not understand how to use the platfom or experiences trouble with the payment. Maybe an indication for a "high maintenance" guest, so better wait for the next one.....?

Pat271
Level 10
Greenville, SC

Find out what she means by “having trouble and unable to get the booking to go through”.  Is it an error email from Airbnb? Or does the app hang? Or...? 

Sarah977