Problem with guests and August Smart Lock

Luke52
Level 1
Washington, DC

Problem with guests and August Smart Lock

I have been using the August Smart lock for a few months now, and on paper, it's been great. 

However, more often than not, guests show up at my door without having downloaded the app, much less created an account. August sends an email to all of my guests, but the majority tell me they've never seen it.

As a result, I'm left to guide them through the process of app installation and set up after letting them in. Not a HUGE problem. But, it kind of defeats the purpose of getting a smart lock. 

What have you guys done to encourage your guests to "come prepared". 

70 Replies 70
Andrea9
Level 10
Amsterdam, Netherlands

@Luke52

One thing to remember is that not everybody embraces the dictatorship of 'freedom' through the digital internet of Things.

It can't be expected that all of your guests will be happy to upload extra stuff on their devices just to get into a dwelling or be able to use it. Not everybody wants to do that. I for one, am a friend of the less I need thru apps and the less I thus give up on my privacy and personal data, the happier I am.

Currently having problems with August sending automatic messages in airbnb

Kevin3086
Level 2
Wellington, New Zealand

Totally agree with you here.  Just found out that this app needs to connect with my AirBnB account.  It wants to see all of my future and past reservations and be able to read and send messages?  Really?  No.  Sorry.  Not going to do it.

Got a place reserved where I am going to show up in 2 days.  Not sure what to do when I get there but I am not letting this random crap app read my entire AirBnB profile just so I can unlock the door.

Even better, my partner will not have mobile phone service (we are from overseas and got 1 USA sim only), so if the home wifi doesn't work from outside, they won't be able to come and go without me.

August App is just really bad, bad, bad!