Reason to Decline Requested Booking

Debbie96
Level 8
Oxford, United Kingdom

Reason to Decline Requested Booking

Excerpts from a recent request:

"Myself and ‘mother in law’ our coming to Oxford to see a performance in the town, which is being managed by my other half/ her son. It is part of the science festival. 

I am a secondary school teacher in the Yorkshire Dales and Julie is in the catering industry. “

I wrote her back asking if her “other half”was planning to stay as well and that I needed to know the names of all guests.     I charge by the number of people staying.   I’ve had a couple of other bookings where unregistered guests spent the night and I feel helpless  in the moment to confront them on this issue and demand more money for fear of retaliatory reviews or creating unwanted further drama in my own home.

A couple of ‘alarm’ bells were sounded with this request to book:  

1. "Do secondary school teachers really write this way??
  2. Would her ‘other half also be staying along with her and her ‘mother-in-law’?    i.e.  where is he staying???

She never responded when I asked her the second question so I’ve declined using the following response inspired by an earlier post I read on here just yesterday:

Dear xxxxx,  Thank you, again, for your interest in staying with us.   Airbnb is different from hotels and is based on trust.   I’m sure you’ll  understand that our home is literally a our sanctuary.   I do everything I can so that everyone — both my family and my guests— feel safe, comfortable and, aware with whom they will be staying.   I haven’t received a reply to my last message so assume you’re don’t want to answer.    I hope you’ll understand this is why I’m declining.  Nonetheless, I do hope you enjoy your stay in Oxford.   With all best wishes, Debbie

Hope someone else finds this post helpful.

9 Replies 9
Linda108
Level 10
La Quinta, CA