Refridgerated products people leave

Nina204
Level 6
Pittsburgh, PA

Refridgerated products people leave

I have been Airbbing my property for about 3 months now.  Some people leave refridgerated and frozen items.  The things that have been opened I usually discard other than dressing, ketchup etc.  What is everyone's opinion on keeping things for the next guest?  If someone had ice cream that they used should I leave it or would you find that gross?  I personally wouldn't eat it but know others that would appreciate it.   This is a whole house so the guests have the house to themselves which I think may make a difference.  Thanks for any opinions

19 Replies 19
Marzena4
Level 10
Kraków, Poland

I discourage my guests from leaving anything behind, @Nina204. I usually kindly ask whether they have taken everything. If it is about food, if open, in most cases it has to go to the bin. It is also a way of respecting the next guests. Only toiletries and long-lasting stuff stay.

// "The only person you can trust is yourself"
Mark26
Level 10
Melbourne Beach, FL

You personally wouldn't eat it....  Why would you leave it for another guest?

Guests leave all sorts of tempting items in the refrigerater or freezer all the time, but unless it is unopened, I'm not going to touch it... and if I'm not willing to eat it, I'm not going to leave it for another guest.

the most frequent complaint i get is when something is not clean, especially the refrigerator.  I only leave a few condiments ike mustard that come in squeeze bottles.  a box of baking soda is a nice touch also.

Cynthia-and-Chris1
Level 10
Vancouver, WA

@Nina204 Like others have said, I wouldn’t leave opened food, except condiments, behind for future guests. Just looks yucky. 

Simon237
Level 4
Brisbane City, Australia

With my Abb, any food left behind (regardless if it is opened or not) goes in the bin. I have no idea how it has been stored prior to finding it, so bin is the easiest option.

Allison116
Level 10