Refund Request Advice

Shae39
Level 2
Montana, United States

Refund Request Advice

This is my first time in 3 years and over 200 bookings that I am at a loss. I had a guest check in to a very throughly cleaned space and then check out 3 hours later canceling her 4 day reservation and requesting a full refund because ‘tones of bugs’ are coming I. The front door and ‘we are not comfortable’ staying here.

keep in mind the prior guest review the space as ‘literally the best AirBnB I’ve ever stayed in’.

these people that canceled are referring to tiny tiny little flies that are more abundant this time of year because we are in an alfalfa farm field that has not yet been hayed. They don’t bite, the die within a couple hours, and they make there way in through microscopic cracks. There were around 20 of them.

They are all over my 10 acres and in all three of my AirBnBs and short of spraying Monsanto all over my property, there is nothing I can do. It’s part of being in rural Montana.

no other guest has complained or even mentioned it as an issue. All my recent ratings are 5 stars.

the unit did rebook so I only missed one night of income but they did lay in the bed and use the facilities so I had to do a full turnover.

what, if anything should I reimburse them?

3 Replies 3
Laura2592
Level 10
Frederick, MD

@Shae39 the insect issue is troublesome as some guests have zero tolerance for seeing even one on a rural property. Logic dictates that those guests should not book a rural property in the height of summer, but here we are. 

When I have seen others post about this, they have advised that you add something to your listing about the possibility of insects. We did as the name Firefly Cottage was not enough to alert prospective guests to the presence of insects on our rural, partially wooded property in one of the most damp parts of the US 🙂 Add that "insects and wildlife are present in this rural location" to your listings ASAP.