Renting to 17 and 18 year olds

Answered!

Renting to 17 and 18 year olds

Hi!

I just received an inquiry from someone wanting to rent my cottage. She and her friends, six total, are 17 and 18.

I am new to Airbnb and was wondering what other hosts do in this situation.

Do you just decline because they are not all adults?

Do you accept reservations from 17 and 18 year old?

My house rules specify no parties and she said their itinerary includes white water rafting, paintball, and fishing.

Thoughts?

thanks! 

1 Best Answer
Stephanie
Community Manager
Community Manager
London, United Kingdom

This content is in our Archive board.

You can still access it if you have the link but it won't appear when you search the Community Center.

To ask a new question in the Community Center, please click:

Stephanie_0-1677152405466.png

Thanks

-----

Please follow the Community Guidelines 

View Best Answer in original post

29 Replies 29
David126
Level 10
Como, CO

You have to be 18 to book on AirBnB.

David
Mark26
Level 10
Melbourne Beach, FL

Perhaps it would be best if you approach this by thinking back to that point in time when you were 17... and your friends were all 17 or 18... and you'd go away for a nice quiet weekend of White Water Rafting... and Paintball... and Fishing... and Beer... and Wine... and perhaps a bit of Whiskey, or Tequilla, or Rum, or Vodka...  And Paintball.   Boy that sounds like a lot of fun doesn't it?  

Now that you've placed yourself in that position, and you're honest with yourself, would YOU want to be the person who has to clean up the mess and deal with the neighbors after you've gone?

There is a button you can press...  It's called the "Decline" Button.  There are a few boxes that pop up when you press it, asking you why you've pressed that button.  And there is a box you can check that reads "I'm uncomfortable with this reservation"  I'd check that box and move on.