Reviews and ratings by guests - somethings changed!

Elaine119
Level 2
Sandhurst, United Kingdom

Reviews and ratings by guests - somethings changed!

I've been hosting since 2016 and have been a superhost for much of that time.  Most of our reviews are 5* for everything with the occasional dip as we would expect as you can't please all of the people all of the time.  However our last 4 guests have marked us down to 4* on cleanliness and under this rating there are various comments eg "dusty" which I've never seen before.  Our cleaning is thorough and nothing has changed for us (apart from my cleaner is getting very upset because of the drop in rating). 

Is Airbnb suddenly inviting people to give too much feedback for the ratings and encouraging them to be very fussy? 

Has anyone else experience this recent change?

22 Replies 22
JR26
Level 3
Wilmington, NC

Yes, I have noticed this since January. I believe the comments are only visible to you, not potential guests. I have gotten two such comments "bathroom smell" and "shower." One benefit is that guests can comment exactly what led them to give you the rating. Cleanliness seems to be the hardest hit aspect across the listings I've surveyed over the past year. There is so much that can go wrong or unnoticed, and people have different standards of cleanliness, so don't take it too harshly! I haven't noticed from my experience that this has invited low ratings; it has actually been the opposite in my reviews: fewer 4 star cleanliness but the comments have been more like gentle suggestions! 

I have started monthly thorough cleanings: wash all the blinds, baseboards, fan blades, minifridge, picture frames; weekly dust bookshelves, sweep/mop under beds/funiture. Some guests will go to great lengths to catch a dust bunny and report you!

Emilia42
Level 10
Orono, ME

@Elaine119