Satisfying Guest

Satisfying Guest

Hello everyone,

I am a new host and I am trouble satisfing my guests.  I have gotten a couple of bad reviews but when I look at what it is going to take to address their complaints I find that I just cannot afford it.  I am simple providing a basic bedroom in my home along with kitchen privileges. I have a regular job that must take  be my first priority.  Taking time off from my job to address their issues is simply not an option and hiring someone to do it is cost prohibited.  Please help 

6 Replies 6
Farah1
Level 10
Seattle, WA

Hi @Donald49 what issues exactly that your guests are having?

Thank you Farah for responding.

When I started participating in Airbnb I did not realize that I was expected to meet hotel standards.  I am charging about 20 percent of what a hotel in my area charges for a night.  I work as an engineer and I leave my home at 5 in the morning and I do not return until about 630.  I cannot materially change this schedule. It is my profession and nothing else can take precedence.  That being said I do have a modestly sized bedroom in my modestly sized house that I am more than willing to share for a modest sum of money.  This seems entirely reasonable to me and most of my guests seem okay with it.  In addition I have a long term roomate who is also an engineer that also works long hours, He often works long into the night from my kitchen table. A recent Airbnb guest treated him as though he were an employee and that is not his role.  In fact Airbnb guests do not add anything to his experience and can be a nuisance from his point of view.  It is unreasonable for me to ask him for any sacrifice.  One thing that I am looking into is to get outside help with my cleaning.  The time I personally have available is not enough for the task and honestly I also prefer a spotlessly clean house.  Any suggestions in this area would be greatly appreciated.  As for upgarding the furnishings in my home that is a long term o