Single woman host tired of invasive questions

Laura1355
Level 7
Minnesota, United States

Single woman host tired of invasive questions

I'm a single woman and rent out a room in my home. I've been doing this for 6 months and accept both men and women as guests because it generates the most rentals. Lately I've noticed a disturbing trend by young male guests who don't respect my space (and yes the shared and nonshared spaces are itemized on my listing) but even worse feel comfortable asking me questions like who lives here, what I do for a living, what my marital status is and it's pissing me off. I know I have the right to tell Airbnb I'm uncomfortable and cancel the reservation  but am a super host and I know speaking up carries the risk of negative reviews and backlash by Airbnb. I don't want to be rude and think the men are just being nosy but it's annoying especially since my listing says I'm an introvert and prefer limited interaction. I refuse to hide in my room while I have guests. What is a diplomatic kind way of saying none of your effing business? I know how to be confrontational but struggle with being simply assertive. Thanks. 

13 Replies 13
Lisa723
Level 10
Quilcene, WA