Smart pricing lower than preset minimum

Ainsley1
Level 1
Toronto, Canada

Smart pricing lower than preset minimum

I activated smart pricing for my property, and set my minimum at $110 and maximum at $175, but people have been able to book for as low as $85. Why is that happening?!

18 Replies 18
Karen-and-Brian0
Level 10
Bragg Creek, Canada

Hi @Ainsley1 There seem to be lots of problems with Smart Pricing. I'd recommend you turn it off, then look at your calendar and make any price adjustments you need to make. Hope that helps - Karen

Dee34
Level 1
California, United States

The same thing happened to me and I am new at this so not sure how to fix it.  Very frustrating that there is no corporate office or human to talk to walk you through problems.

Sherri0
Level 3
Bend, OR

I have tried several different times to use the 'smart pricing' but as others have shared it does not seem so "smart."  I eventually decided that I am the smartest person when it comes to what my prices should be and I have learned to trust myself.  I have an excellent idea of how much it costs me to host someone, and how much I need to be 'paid' for my hospitality services, and I set my prices with all those things in mind. 

The other thing I do is to stay in touch with the prices other Airbnb hosts are charging in my area.  Over the last two years I have been able to raise my prices slightly without decreasing my bookings.

Hope that helps!

Sherri **

Fullerton, CA

Flo9
Level 2
Cairns City, Australia

Flo here from Cairns Australia. I signed up for the Smart Price and yes guests pay $20 leass than my maximum price.   I intend to run with this for the first 3 month of operation to do my CBA and revise accordingly.  

Scott-and-Sherryn0
Level 5
Apollo Bay, Australia

I would never use smart pricing, it' around 40 to 50% less than what we are happy to get.