So only 5% of superhosts will get the superhost relief fund!

Bob40
Level 10
Montevarchi, Italy

So only 5% of superhosts will get the superhost relief fund!

After an estimated 5% of hosts being entitled to the 25% payment, which turned out to be 12.5% anyway, it's now clear that about the same miserably low percentage will benefit from the superhost relief fund. Can I suggest to Airbnb that instead of releasing upbeat PR stories, they keep quiet? Why raise hosts' expectations at a time when we're badly in need of income? It's just sailors' promises!

89 Replies 89

"I write for a living so Airbnb has become a primary source of income "

What does this mean? Writing doesn't provide a living?

Perhaps a better way to phrase is that i am a writer and Airbnb is a significant source of supplemental income.

But yes - there was as time when writing in the children's market provided a steady income, but now I'm seeing compensation rates drop as publishers drop their compensation to authors and illustrators to keep profits up. I've also learned that many well known authors are not making as much as the public perceives. Almost all of my peers are now holding second jobs.

Hence, Airbnb was not my sole source of income, but a pretty significant part of it which allowed me to continue advocacy for literacy in schools and libraries.

Ian-And-Anne-Marie0
Level 10
Kendal, United Kingdom

@ Everybody

All this bickering about who was eligible for a payout is just BS. 

The root cause of all this is Airbnb administering an EC policy biased against their 'partners', us hosts, by removing their - our - only advance planning tool - the cancellation policy. Covid-19 is a difficult circumstance to navigate, but hosts are more than capable of reaching whatever agreement would have been necessary, and those who have experience of direct contracts with guests will understand that amicable solutions are easily found without advantage being taken by any party.