Someone trying to book a month in advance and wants a discount

William33
Level 2
Arvada, CO

Someone trying to book a month in advance and wants a discount

Hi, Only second month in, but trying to learn from you guys this is a great source of info so here are my questions. Booked my first for almost a month and my second for 6 days. Have someone asking to book 4 nights a month out and wants a discount. For some reason he said it was because he is booking Thursday through Sunday and I have no idea what that means and ask him and he ignored the question.

I was under the impression that allowing someone to book a month out and then giving them a discount and they cancel with keep those days blocked if they cancel. Is that true? I asked him to book within a week of his trip and if those days were still available I would consider a discount. Is that approriate for me to do?  (They are for that last 4 days in May.)I am at moderate on cancelations...

I am a total rookie and don't want to miss a good booking. I am just wary of someone whho's first contact is asking for a discount. They seem nice and have both as a host and guest review that are good. I think I am already under pricing the space, but I really would like to hear what you all think? What would you do?

Bill 🙂

19 Replies 19
Gerry-And-Rashid0
Level 10
London, United Kingdom

My honest opinion is people who ask for a discount are trouble - you know the value of your home/room and stick to it. If it was a long term booking then you might want to consider it, but personally I would turn down this request completely and suggest he/she finds something within their budget range. If you accept them, there is alwasy the uncomfortable feeling that they will be trouble in some way or leave a poor review.

Eileen4
Level 10
Champlain, Canada