Suddenly no bookings

Suddenly no bookings

I've been hosting for 18 months in St Kilda, Melbourne and have always had 80% occupancy.  I have very positive reviews, use professional photos shots and I'm a super host but suddenly I'm not getting any booking requests and the number of views for my listing have declined dramatically.   I've not changed the way I manage the listing at all.  I keep an eye on competitive listings.   HELP! I've had no booking for 3 weeks now despite reducing my price to similar rates as last year and also modifying my listing slightly.

I've resisted Instant Book and this has not impacted on my bookings but I'm wondering if this is the problem?  I also blocked out a 6 week period whilst I was away in May and was unable to manage the listing (but I also did this last year with no booking isssues when I came back home. )

Anyone having any similar experience or can offer any sugestions....      

11 Replies 11
Beth44
Level 10
Flagstaff, AZ

Yes I have had similar slowed bookings. #1 check to see if you r listed(mine fell off radar at one time tech issue); check to see how many listing for your area ( I had heard that 300 changes listing dynamic; I have noticed that instant booking is first search priority ( I do not do that so feel it altered my position. That's all i can offer as possible impacts. Airbnb has grown immensely so things in process are changing

Loretta2
Level 8
Byron Bay, Australia

I have exactly the same issue with my Bondi listing, and I'm pretty sure it's because I refuse to Instant Book, for all the obvious reasons. Also, there are now so many more listings in Bondi than when I joined up 5 years ago.....I'm guessing St Kilda is the same.

Yes. I am thinking it's not being on  instant book. But I'm reluctant to do this as I like to verify my guests myself l. So far I've not had any issue with any of my guests and I'd like to keep it this way.  I know you can turn down those who instant book but this will go again me