Superhost Status revoked

Superhost Status revoked

I have been hosting with Airbnb for over four years. Recently, I had to cancel a guest's reservation because I made an error in the booking. This is the first and only cancellation I've ever made but my super host status was revoked. This seems unfair! 

54 Replies 54

@Catherine175 did you inform Airbnb of your illness when you cancelled? If your illness was such that it prevented you from hosting, it would have been considered an Extenuating Circumstance and the cancellation would not have counted against you or your Super Host status.  

https://www.airbnb.com/help/article/1320/what-is-airbnb-s-extenuating-circumstances-policy

I see at least two cancellations, @Catherine175 which is why there is an automated "warning".  Your reviews are so positive, I would imagine you do not easily cancel.  Do you involve Air BNB in the cancellation process?  This has helped me. 

Yes... we talk to the AirBNB desk all the time.

They try to help every time.

But they have to be honest brokers of situations,

because their business model would absolutely

require that.

If they are biased in either direction,

they will destroy a beautiful business.

Maddalena3
Level 2
London, United Kingdom

I symptaise completely.... I was stripped from my SH badge back in july and felt gutted considering that I accepted the guest request to cancel their booking. Also in my area my performace is higher then all the other competitors which is even more frustrating 😞

@Maddalena3,

You are in a very interesting position and I would like your viewpoint.

After being stripped of your SH badge, has your business suffered?

Did you have to reduce your rates?

Besides your pride, was your business hurt?

I am very curious about the value of the SH badge.

Thanks