Superhost and Airbnb Plus: What are your thoughts?

Kay61
Level 2
Singapore

Superhost and Airbnb Plus: What are your thoughts?

Hi everyone!

I am an avid Airbnb user (a guest in specific) for a couple of years now, and I am currently a Masters student in the UK. Because Airbnb's growth story and their business model have been quite phenomenal, so I thought I will focus on Airbnb for my dissertation. While most people focus on the consumers’ behaviour or the company itself, I thought I will put attention on you guys, the hosts! So I just thought it will be great to have your input in my research, hope you guys can help!

I have not hosted before but I have met many amazing hosts from my past 34 stays with Airbnb since 2013. Lately, I have noticed a surge of the Superhost badge on many host’s profiles while searching for a holiday home. To me, as a guest, I find the badge has lost its true meaning to honour extraordinary hosts (or maybe I am wrong, there might actually be way too many extraordinary hosts out there). With the newly announced Airbnb Plus, I feel it’s just an extra layer of polishing for some outstanding listings to attract even more bookings.

So my questions for you guys are these:

From your hosting experience, have you encounter any positive or negative impacts from the Superhost and/or Airbnb Plus programme?

What are your views on these two programmes?

16 Replies 16
Kirti6
Level 2
San Francisco, CA

kay16 - Can you share your dissertation? It would be great to learn about your research and findings.

Alex851
Level 2
Toronto, Canada