TV streaming services: Netflix, AppleTV, Amazon Prime

Answered!
Leslie3
Level 2
Oakland, CA

TV streaming services: Netflix, AppleTV, Amazon Prime

Newbie here! What do hosts do about streaming services for their TVs? Currently, we have logged in states for Netflix, AppleTV and Amazon Prime (but don't allow rentals or purchases). My concern is if visitors log out of our accounts, and then we would be unable to log back in for the next visitor (we are 200 miles away).

Should I assume that everyone is to log in on their own accounts? Or, do we do our best to provide some streaming, but not guarentee it?

Any advice would be great,

Leslie (North Tahoe)

1 Best Answer
Dave-and-Deb0
Level 10
Edmonton, Canada

Hi @Leslie3,

I have installed a Google Chromecast ($35-$45)  which is a small HDMI dongle that plugs into the tv.  The guest then just needs to download the Chromecast app on their phone/tablet and they can send anything to the tv including Netflix and even their internet browser.  They use their own accounts for the subscription service they use.  They can even play their music through the tv.

We provide our guests with basic cable with the option to use streaming services that the guest already subscribes to.

Also, @Regina0 mentioned she has a SmartTv.  With the Chromecast, it turns a regular tv into a Smart TV providing it has an HDMI slot available.

Happy Hosting @Leslie3!

Dave

David

Superhost Ambassador ~ Host Club Community Leader ~ Community Expert ~ Experienced Co-Host

View Best Answer in original post

13 Replies 13
Regina0
Level 6
San Antonio, TX

I have a smart tv with access to Amazona and Netflix but guests use their own personal accounts to log in.  The tv was on sale at Walmart last year.

I also want to add Netflix to my listing, but I don't think it is a good idea to use your personal account for guests use, because of the safety/privacy. They can use their own accounts to watch Netflix and other streaming services.

Dave-and-Deb0