The Vegan Thread.

The Vegan Thread.

Ok - so since Air B&B is getting rid of the groups (and therefore the veggie group) AND they, inexplicably, have removed the keyword search, I hope this thread can be a place for us vegan peeps to meet & chat & stay & host!

Welcome veggie folks 🙂

60 Replies 60

see also this thread:    Keyword search

Susan1227
Level 1
Trinidad, Cuba

Hey veganistas

I've been running our Vegan Casa on Airbnb for the last three years here in Cuba and we were doing really well until the US embargo was tightened last year.   Now along with all the other private Casas on Airbnb here we have lost so much business, it's hard to stay open.  

I offer around 130 different dishes using local produce, such as coconut, pumpkin, beans, avocado, plantain, sweet potato and more.   My most popular dishes are Caribbean Crumble (Sweet Potato and beans) and Coconut Curry.   I make fresh rice milk and coconut milk every morning for the breakfasts, as well as pumpkin or banana bread.   My aim is to share my love of good, tasty food, without any impact on our planet and other species.   I don’t have access to many vegan staples such as nutritional yeast, yeast extract, agave, tamari soy sauce.   So I adapt or purchase these items from travelers passing through.

Home we can share some Vegan love and help travellers stay in meat free places?

Susan

Hey Susan!

Thanks a lot for your post.  I'm really sorry to hear the US embargo has been having sucha a negative impact on your business 😞  

The meals that you prepare sound absolutely delicious and if I can ever find the chance to make it to Cuba I will do my best to bring you some supplies 

Warm regards

Erik

@Susan1227 wrote:

Hey veganistas

I've been running our Vegan Casa on Airbnb for the last three years here in Cuba and we were doing really well until the US embargo was tightened last year.   Now along with all the other private Casas on Airbnb here we have lost so much business, it's hard to stay open.