Torn about leaving a not-so-great review, or not?

Answered!
Francesca15
Level 2
Rahway, NJ

Torn about leaving a not-so-great review, or not?

Okay, its my fault. I've been hosting for about 2 years and I keep learning the same lesson - which is - do NOT rent long-term to college age guests. But this time, I thought I would be in the clear because she was an opera-major grad student and for some reason, that sounded like a good bet. But, here's where I went wrong - because I am a soft touch and I felt bad for her - I agreed to knock 1/3 off the already discounted rent for FOUR months (approx $1200) in exchange for her helping me with admin stuff and around the house. It was very clearly defined, down to the exchange rate and amount of hours per month. Best laid plans ...

Here's what bugged me but are these too trivial to mention?

1. HELPING: The reality of it was that she was always too busy to help. And when I finally could rope her in to do a task for me, like sort receipts, she was clearly annoyed at having to put the time in and was texting on her cell every other minute. By the end of her stay she put in about half the hours we agreed upon - at the equivelant of $15 per hour - so I was out about $600. (That room is usually booked solid for the time she was here.)
  2. ROOM: Only came out of her room to cook or use the bathroom, otherwise she stayed in her room with her door shut tight and locked. I'd hear her lock it when I walked by. Kinda creeped me out - but, it's her right. The problem was that I had two other guests complain to me about the stench coming from her room. When I finally got a whiff, I was able to identify it as the stale odor of unwashed clothes. (In 4 months she did her laundry 4 times.) I asked her to open her window and air out the room a couple of times a week and she just yessed me and did not. Now that she is out, I've had it cleaned, aired it out for over a week & had to launder every item in it but I can still smell her.