UK electrical PAT testing and requirements Q&A. Free advice.

UK electrical PAT testing and requirements Q&A. Free advice.

home-wiring.8879557.jpg

Part of my day job is testing electrical equipment, particularly what they term as In-Service Electrical Equipment, and it frequently includes rentals, Airbnb, landlords and holiday lets. (tool hire, offices, schools, IT etc as well)  So I thought I would throw this Q&A out there in case anyone has any questions about the requirements/obligations related to your Airbnb in the UK.  I'm competent for UK regulations.

I hasten to add I am not chasing work, I have plenty.  Just offering free advice, giving back to the community and fellow hosts.

Fire away!

14 Replies 14
Steve779
Level 2
St Austell, United Kingdom

Is it an obligation for Airbnb to have PAT Testing and if so how often does it need to be completed

@Steve779 There is no obligation to have PAT Testing for Airbnb, in fact there is no law to say that anyone has to have anything PAT Tested at all, or even keep records.  In law all you have to do is take reasonable care that your electrical items where staff or customers come in contact with them are safe.  eg. secure plugs, good condition flexes, and the right fuse in the plug for the appliance.

Kettles, hoovers, hair dryers are the main culprits and generally fail because of dodgy (worn) flexes,, which can be obvious.

I'm glad you asked, we can bust some myths! Some firms try and tell potential customers that its a legal requirement when it isn't a legal requirement in the first place.  

Even when items are tested stickers are not actually required.  

Generally you'll get a certificate with a list of the items tested.  Then if there is a claim or an accident you have proof that you took reasonable care by getting a competent person to check it all for you.

But you can visually check and inspect your appliances yourself, and you may as well keep a record just in case.