Unable to Respond to a Guest's Private Review

Gina3
Level 1
Broadstairs, United Kingdom

Unable to Respond to a Guest's Private Review

Hi,

I'm new to Airbnb although I have been hosting my house for five years. I love the concept of Airbnb and the idea that hosts can review as well as guests.  I'm disappointed that I have received a bad private review from a guest.  There were two guests staying in the two bedrooms of my 3 bed house for one week, I dropped the price by approx £75 so that it was within their budget, academics visiting a colleague at the local uni campus. They then allowed another colleague to stay in the third bedroom and never told me about it, I found out when I went to clean, they even made the bed up again to look like no one had stayed.  At the end I charged an extra £50 for the extra guest (over the whole week).  The guest said I was unfair, should only have charged £35 as they forgot to tell me and he only stayed one night. I stuck to £50 which was paid as whether the bed has been slept in one night or 7 nights the result is the same and the guest abused my hospitality and my generousity. I also pointed out that it was a children's bedroom with childrens beds only suitable up to the age of 16 and that this was in the house rules and the contract the guest had signed.  Although they wrote a basic polite public review they were pretty unkind in the private review stating