Unauthorized additional guests

Kim307
Level 2
Johannesburg, South Africa

Unauthorized additional guests

Hello

I have had a few bookings now (I am relatively new at hosting) where a guest books for 1 person, however, usually arrives as a couple.

one guest would sneak ladies in overnight, and they would leave early in the morning.

how do some other hosts deal with this situation.

Due to our unit being a 2 bedroom, the second room is often utilized and left filthy - we have begun locking it.

i currently have this situation, where 1 person was booked, but it’s a couple.

8 Replies 8
Marzena4
Level 10
Kraków, Poland

Hello @Kim307 You can request the money for the other person or you can refuse to host. Then Airbnb will cancel the booking with a loss for the guest.

// "The only person you can trust is yourself"
Gillian19
Level 10
St Leonards, Australia

I would just make the standard nightly fee for two. Then you don't have to worry about it.

Willow3
Level 10
Coupeville, WA

I recently had a guest sneak an additional person into my home. I allow up to two guests for one price - they snuck in a third. 

So so I purchased a security camera and have it declared in my listing, directed at the parking/entry area. I then added an "additional person beyond 2 guests" charge of $300 per person. 

Should anyone else else sneak in addditonal guests, I will send a request for $300 and a screen capture of their extra person. 

I am new on airbnb, how can you do that?

Jessie57
Level 3
Sparks, NV